People

Principal Investigator

David Badre
Position: Associate Professor (Department of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences)
Email: david_badre@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae
Website: https://vivo.brown.edu/display/dbadre

 

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows

personal photo of post-doc Apoorva Bhandari

Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: apoorva_bhandari@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in how people rapidly learn the structure of complex, novel tasks. I am using novel behavioral and computational methods to probe subject's knowledge about structure as they are learning the task. 

 

personal photo of post-doc Theresa Desrochers

Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: theresa_desrochers@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae
Website:  http://research.clps.brown.edu/tmd/

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in sequences and sequence learning. I completed my PhD in Neuroscience at MIT studying habit formation using multi-electrode recording techniques in the non-human primate. I am joining the Badre lab to learn human imaging techniques and study the interaction between frontal cortical and subcortical brain areas during the proceduralization of tasks.

 

Graduate Students

Ceyda Sayali
Position: Graduate Student (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)
Email: ceyda_sayali@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in the cost associated with performing an effortful task. Although it sounds intuitive to prefer using a calculator rather than performing a long series of multiplications, what makes us avoid such demanding tasks? Is cognitive effort intrinsically costly? If so, how do we integrate this cost into the valuation of tasks? In my studies, I am trying to specify the cost function for mental effort and explore the neural signatures of this cost/benefit analysis.

 

Jason Scimeca
Position: Graduate Student (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)
Email: jason_scimeca@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

Website: http://scimeca.net

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in executive function, cognitive control of memory, and the prefrontal cortex. The cognitive control system can strategically guide memory based on internal goals and external context, but how do control mechanisms update these strategies as our context and goals change? I am currently studying this dynamic control of declarative memory, with a focus on frontal-striatal interactions. Ongoing projects in the Badre Lab are investigating how striatal signals contribute to mnemonic control processes, such as the development of effective retrieval strategies in semantic memory and the adjustment of decision criteria in recognition memory.

 

patti shihPatti Shih
Position: Graduate Student (Neuroscience)
Email: patricia_shih@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

 

 

 

Lab Manager

Brittany Ciullo
Position: Lab Manager

Email: brittany_ciullo@brown.edu

 

 


Undergraduate Students

Celia FordCelia Ford
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: celia_ford@brown.edu

 

 

 

Sarah MasterSarah Master
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: sarah_master@brown.edu

 

 

 

Sara PalasitsSara Palasits
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: sara_palasits@brown.edu

 

 

 

Amanda Ruggieri
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: amanda_ruggieri@brown.edu

 

 


 

Lab Alumni

Kerstin Unger (Post-doc) contact: kerstin_unger@brown.edu | Post-doc with Michael Worden at Brown

Justin Cox (Post-doc) contact: jccox86@gmail.com | Data Scientist at Kemper Corporation

Chris Chatham (Post-doc) contact: chathach@gmail.com | Neuroimaging Lead at Pfizer

Chris Gagne (Lab Manager) contact: gagnecr@gmail.com | Pursuing PhD at UC Berkeley

Jennifer Barredo (Graduate Student) contact: jennifer_barredo@brown.edu | Pursuing post-doc at Brown

Erika Nyhus (Post-doc) contact: enyhus@bowdoin.edu | Assistant Professor at Bowdoin College

Lauren McShane (Lab Manager) contact: lauren.m.mcshane@gmail.com | Junior Data Scientist at Deloitte Digital

Ilke Oztekin (Post-doc) contact: ioztekin@ku.edu.tr | Assistant Professor at Koç University

Nicole Long (Lab Manager) contact: niclong@sas.upenn.edu | Pursuing PhD at UPenn, soon to start post-doc at NYU

 

Former Undergraduate Collaborators

Jonathan Nicholas

Kathryn Graves

Ryan Fugate

Rebecca Zak

Ria Vaidya

Ashley Wu

Lucy Duan

Perri Katzman

Caryn Cobb

Carolyn Ranti

Kieran Alessi

Jamie Brew

Zack Bornstein

Zeynep Gungor

Priscilla Mok

David Pagliaccio

Monica Rosenberg

Matt Scult

 

 

Back to Top