People

Principal Investigator

David Badre
Position: Associate Professor (Department of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences)
Email: david_badre@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae
Website: https://vivo.brown.edu/display/dbadre

 

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows

personal photo of post-doc Apoorva Bhandari

Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: apoorva_bhandari@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in how people rapidly learn the structure of complex, novel tasks. I am using novel behavioral and computational methods to probe subject's knowledge about structure as they are learning the task. 

 

personal photo of post-doc Avinash Vaidya

Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: avinash_vaidya@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in the brain mechanisms underlying decision-making. My research investigates the neural processes that are involved in constructing the expected value of complex decision options from multiple sources of information. Specifically, I am examining how estimates of expected value are flexibly adapted to changing goals and contexts.

 

personal photo of post-doc Olga Lositsky

Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: olga_lositsky@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in how we learn to represent new tasks and how the way in which we structure our memories reflects our assumptions about the world and influences how we generalize our knowledge to new situations. Using psychophysics and computational modeling, I am testing under which conditions people combine their experiences to form general representations that apply to various contexts, as opposed to forming representations that are context-specific. Using fMRI, I hope to investigate how complementary learning systems in the brain (such as the medial temporal memory system and prefrontal / basal ganglia circuits) regulate this trade-off.

 

personal photo of post-doc Rachael Blackman

Position: MD/PhD Postdoctoral Researcher
Email: rachael_blackman@brown.edu
; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in cognitive dysfunction in schizophrenia. I am characterizing how gating mechanisms related to working memory may be disrupted in the disease state.

 

Graduate Students

Ceyda Sayali
Position: Graduate Student (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)
Email: ceyda_sayali@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in the cost associated with performing an effortful task. Although it sounds intuitive to prefer using a calculator rather than performing a long series of multiplications, what makes us avoid such demanding tasks? Is cognitive effort intrinsically costly? If so, how do we integrate this cost into the valuation of tasks? In my studies, I am trying to specify the cost function for mental effort and explore the neural signatures of this cost/benefit analysis.

 

Emily Levin
Position: Graduate Student (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences)
Email: emily_levin@brown.edu; curriculum vitae

 

 

Research Interests: I am interested in understanding how the brain uses cognitive control and working memory processes to flexibly guide behavior. I hope to investigate what neural correlates are involved during working memory gating and examine how these processes allow us to adapt to a rapidly changing environment.

Lab Manager

Adriane Spiro
Position: Lab Manager

Email: adriane_spiro@brown.edu

 

 


Undergraduate Students

Henry JonesHenry Jones
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: henry_jones@brown.edu

 

 


Jordan Rubin-McGregorJordan Rubin-McGregor
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: jordan_rubin-mcgregor@brown.edu

 

 

 

 Aurelie SchaisonAurelie Schaison
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: aurelie_schaison@brown.edu

 

 

 

Erica JonesErica Jones
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: erica_jones@brown.edu

 

 


Amanda NgAmanda Ng
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: amanda_ng@brown.edu

 

 

 

Yael BravermanYael Braverman
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: yael_braverman@brown.edu

 

 


Isabel ReyesIsabel Reyes
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: isabel_reyes@brown.edu

 

 

 

Emily WatersEmily Waters
Position: Undergraduate Research Assistant
Email: emily_waters@brown.edu

 

 

 

 

Lab Alumni

Theresa Desrochers (Post-doc) contact: theresa_desrochers@brown.edu | Assistant Professor at Brown University- Lab Website

Brittany Ciullo (Lab Manager) contact: bciullo@gmail.com | Pursuing M.A. at UMass Amherst

Jason Scimeca (Graduate Student) contact: jscimeca@gmail.com | Post-doc at UC Berkeley

Kerstin Unger (Post-doc) contact: kerstin_unger@brown.edu | Post-doc with Michael Worden at Brown

Justin Cox (Post-doc) contact: jccox86@gmail.com | Data Scientist at Kemper Corporation

Chris Chatham (Post-doc) contact: chathach@gmail.com | Neuroimaging Lead at Pfizer

Chris Gagne (Lab Manager) contact: gagnecr@gmail.com | Pursuing PhD at UC Berkeley

Jennifer Barredo (Graduate Student) contact: jlbarredo@gmail.com | Pursuing post-doc at Brown

Erika Nyhus (Post-doc) contact: enyhus@bowdoin.edu | Assistant Professor at Bowdoin College

Lauren McShane (Lab Manager) contact: lauren.m.mcshane@gmail.com | Junior Data Scientist at Deloitte Digital

Ilke Oztekin (Post-doc) contact: ioztekin@ku.edu.tr | Assistant Professor at Koç University

Nicole Long (Lab Manager) contact: niclong@sas.upenn.edu | Post-doc at University of Oregon

 

Former Undergraduate Collaborators

Louise Stolz

James Verch

Sarah Master

Celia Ford

Nada Hanzah

Amanda Ruggieri

Sara Palasits

Jonathan Nicholas

Kathryn Graves

Ryan Fugate

Rebecca Zak

Ria Vaidya

Ashley Wu

Lucy Duan

Perri Katzman

Caryn Cobb

Carolyn Ranti

Kieran Alessi

Jamie Brew

Zack Bornstein

Zeynep Gungor

Priscilla Mok

David Pagliaccio

Monica Rosenberg

Matt Scult

 

 

Back to Top